Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Folks

Im getting a sammy HLN567W and Im building an HTPC to play DVD movies through DVI.

Ive read some horror stories regarding getting DVI working with the Samsung HLx sets through HTPC.

My reason for posting is, I just would like to know which video card to choose for the best shot at getting this right the first time is. Would and ATI with the latest Catalyst drivers be the best option for this set or an Nvidia card with the latest detonators?

This is basically going to be an expensive DVD player Im not going to do much computing on it. I just want the best PQ to view my DVD collection. (I know its cheaper to get a Bravo, but Im an amateur hobbyist and want to do this project).

Also are there any other hardware recommendations I should look for or hardware I should avoid? Compatibilty is key for me

Also, what software would be a good options for optimal DVD PQ playback? I seem to b leaning toward winDVD, but have heard good things about TheaterTek and Zoomplayer.

Thanks all, great forum Ive learned a lot.

·
Registered
3,372 Posts
Don't worry too much about the horror stories. This is still the easiest mainstream TV I know of to use as a computer monitor. But it's obviously not 100% yet.

I don't think there is any real data that says ATI or NVIDIA is more/less likely to have a problem. I'm biased to say that ATI's are great since I have one, though if you read these forums long enough I think you'll agree it's the more popular choice.

As for the software player, you'll see many threads going into great detail on which people like. Get used to the search funtion and you'll find a ton of into (another tip is to sort threads by veiws/replies instead of data to show you the popular threads.)

·
Registered
149 Posts