AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
438 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Are the DVI to HDMI conversion cables directional? I have a HDMI to DVI cable and I'm trying to use it to give me a picture from my Samsung DVI to my plasma with HDMI. Will this work? Right now I don't know if I have a bum cable or these cables are directional. Thanks

·
Registered
532 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by aus
Are the DVI to HDMI conversion cables directional? I have a HDMI to DVI cable and I'm trying to use it to give me a picture from my Samsung DVI to my plasma with HDMI. Will this work? Right now I don't know if I have a bum cable or these cables are directional. Thanks
I use a DVI/DVI cable with a DVI/HDMI adapter on the output end.

I have heard, however, that there are issues with the HDMI connection to some plasma monitors.

·
Registered
48 Posts
While I am no expert, I believe the following to be true: hdmi to dvi will work because while both an audio and video signal are being sent from the output device, the input device is just looking for a video signal and will recognize it. dvi to hdmi won't work because the output device is sending only a video signal, while the input device is looking for both an audio and video signal.

Someone please correct me if this is not true.

·
Registered
23 Posts
What brand of plasma monitor do you have and what has happened when you have tried to connect them? I ask because I have a Mitsubishi plasma and there are some steps which you need to take to get it to work.

Spencer Gross

·
Registered
2,128 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AudiA6