AVS Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
775 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone.

I Have a 42" Samsung Triple-gun CRT rear projection unit and the picture is all "3D" looking. Like the colors are not aligned at all. I'm new to TV repair but I'm pretty adapt at working on electronic devices if there is a way to fix this. I found this but I hope there is something I can do for it without dropping tons of cash (that I don't have
).

Any Samsung technicians in the house?

Thanks in advance, guys and gals!

·
Registered
4,996 Posts
Convergence failure. Pay $400 for service or diy for $50. See link in my signature-

·
Registered
775 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thank you, hammerdwn! I really appreciate that info. I read some of the link and understand it so far. I'm going to try to crack open "the set" this weekend and see what I'm up against. I'd certainly love to fix it rather than pay out the nose.

I'll keep y'all posted.

Thanks again!

·
Registered
775 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
All right, got some time to crack open "the set" this morning and am all geared up to order the IC chip. I found the chip right away but there's a problem:

It has a twin. Should I order one or both?

For giggles, here's a shot of the inside of the TV:

Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
4,996 Posts
Yes, always replace both IC's. Also on your Tv you can actually get that whole board with new IC's sometimes not that much more than IC's alone. Way easy, no soldering! Check this link . Provide full model number and version from sticker on side of Tv.

·
Registered
775 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Hammerdwn, is it wrong to say, I love you?

I'm assuming that link is to order the whole board? If so, my model is there. I'll order that sucker today!

And because I like posting pitchers...

and the sticker on the toob:

Once again, Hammerdwn, THANK YOU!

·
Registered
4,996 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by shane2943 /forum/post/17005134