AVS Forum banner

7121 - 7140 of 18882 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,860 Posts
I just noticed that KFTY 50 (RF32) is back on the air with their normal signal. They must have had a major problem because the station was off the air for about four days!


Larry

SF
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,860 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by SFischer1 /forum/post/19733478


Hi,


It appears that one thing will be missing from 8.2 for you, KGO's newscasts.


8.1 and 8.2 will both show KSBW's local Newscasts.


SHF

The ABC Network affiliation at KSBW has nothing to do with KGO. It's an entirely separate deal.


I'm wondering what's going to happen to the KGO feed on the Salinas/Monterey cable, since the new KSBW ABC feed is going to be carried. I bet they drop KGO. Time will tell.


Larry

SF
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,986 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry Kenney /forum/post/19736219


The ABC Network affiliation at KSBW has nothing to do with KGO. It's an entirely separate deal.


I'm wondering what's going to happen to the KGO feed on the Salinas/Monterey cable, since the new KSBW ABC feed is going to be carried. I bet they drop KGO. Time will tell.


Larry

SF

Hi,


Is KGO not O&O, I.E. same ownership / same company as the ABC Network.

http://www.search.com/reference/KGO-TV


Since Disney / ABC / KGO paid for the must carry rights on Salinas/Monterey cable it will be interesting about KGO's status.


How does this deal make more money for Disney / ABC / KGO? It must be an image deal not being OTA down there.


KSBW must be getting some money from somewhere.


Read the reference carefully about Salinas/Monterey cable, I can see a possibility that Disney / ABC / KGO may end up with less money.


With no access to the legal documents for the Granite or the new KSBW agreement us civilians are just guessing.


SHF
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
381 Posts
Well I was hoping to report a remarkable improvement. Alas, I see some improvement. A few stations lost a little. I tell you it took a good amount of tweaking to get everything right. I should give it a few days to see if the results are real, as my signal fluctuates all day long.

I also looked at kgo and kntv, which are both vhf. Just wanted to see if a different uhf antenna would make a difference with the signal. It did not as for as I see.

I was wondering if I would loose kofy because the 91xg is more directional. Kofy is off at a completely different angle than sutro.

It did lose snq points, but is still a solid signal.


Anyway, here are the before and after.



cm4228


ktvu ch=8vsb:653000000 lock=8vsb ss=79 snq=93 seq=100 bps=19395584 pps=1177

kgo ch=8vsb:617000000 lock=8vsb ss=74 snq=72 seq=100 bps=19395584 pps=1401

kpix ch=8vsb:563000000 lock=8vsb ss=67 snq=59 seq=100 bps=19394080 pps=1733

kgo ch=8vsb:177000000 lock=8vsb ss=81 snq=73 seq=100 bps=19394080 pps=684

kntv ch=8vsb:207000000 lock=8vsb ss=70 snq=52 seq=100 bps=19394080 pps=1125

kofy ch=8vsb:503000000 lock=8vsb ss=80 snq=89 seq=100 bps=19394080 pps=952

kicu ch=8vsb:605000000 lock=8vsb ss=65 snq=53 seq=100 bps=19394080 pps=732

kbcw ch=8vsb:659000000 lock=8vsb ss=73 snq=86 seq=100 bps=19395584 pps=1040

kofy ch=8vsb:581000000 lock=8vsb ss=95 snq=79 seq=100 bps=19394080 pps=467


91xg


ktvu ch=8vsb:653000000 lock=8vsb ss=85 snq=100 seq=100 bps=19394080 pps=1203

kgo ch=8vsb:617000000 lock=8vsb ss=80 snq=75 seq=100 bps=19394080 pps=1400

kpix ch=8vsb:563000000 lock=8vsb ss=70 snq=65 seq=100 bps=19394080 pps=1710

kgo ch=8vsb:177000000 lock=8vsb ss=82 snq=73 seq=100 bps=19394080 pps=686

kntv ch=8vsb:207000000 lock=8vsb ss=70 snq=58 seq=100 bps=19395584 pps=981

kofy ch=8vsb:503000000 lock=8vsb ss=72 snq=85 seq=100 bps=19394080 pps=913

kicu ch=8vsb:605000000 lock=8vsb ss=63 snq=51 seq=85 bps=19394080 pps=1008

kbcw ch=8vsb:659000000 lock=8vsb ss=80 snq=98 seq=100 bps=19394080 pps=1697

kofy ch=8vsb:581000000 lock=8vsb ss=94 snq=68 seq=100 bps=19394080 pps=468
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,009 Posts
That's a great antenna setup you got, ... Iitywygms


The only thing you can do now is what I call "Elevation Tuning"

(2 people + cell phone needed) Remove the VHF antenna & tune the UHF to the weakest most problem station. With a marking pen, Inch by inch starting at the bottom of the pole mark the pole where the signal is strongest.

That's where you lock the UHF antenna down at.


For me, I put the VHF antenna on top for 2 reasons.

It's higher and Lawnmowers, Fluorescent Lights under the roof. And motorcycles have caused pixelation on my weakest stations.

But that may not apply to your situation. UHF can sit at roof level and still work.


But I ended up locking the VHF antenna @ 2.5 feet above the roof because that is where signals were about 8 % stronger.

The top of the pole is not always the best spot.


P.S. There is about a 5 second delay with each adjustment for .. "Buffering"
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
381 Posts
I did do some elevation tuning. I have mythtv on my laptop so I can do it by myself.


Problem for me is the signal fluctuates so much at any given time (kpix) that it is real hard to tell what is best.


My signal quality will fluctuate +- 5 in ten seconds time.

I even removed the vhf antenna and did not notice a difference. So I decided to put the 91xg up high so I had more room to manoeuvre the other antenna.

I may go out when the weather is nicer, and I am bored, lol. Try some other tweaks, switching positions, standing on my head, eating more veggies. lol

I just wish the other stations would match ktvu. 100 snq? 55 miles away? yeah boy!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
I'm a new member and located in northern Santa Rosa and have a modified CM4221 that I'm currently using with a DTV converter box. The reception is very good and I'd like to step-up to HDTV and DVR.


I've read the last ten or twelve pages and it looks like people are using different types of tuners and I'm looking for a recommendation. I'd like to avoid Tivo due to the subscription cost and have heard that a Dish 722 and certain DirecTv receivers, available from Craigslist, can legally be used without a subscription to view OTA HD. Are these is a good solution or is there a better tuner/DVR solution?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
381 Posts
Do you have a spare computer hooked up to the tv?

hdhomerun with mythtv? That is what I use. Mythtv is free, but requires some linux knowledge, and tweaking.

hdhomerun also works with windblows . I never used anything from microsoft but I have read good things about its dvr ability.

The good thing about the hdhomerun is that you do not have to open up the computer. it is networked, and configuring it is super simple.

It is a bit pricey thou.

Where you at in santa rosa?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by iitywygms /forum/post/19742468


Do you have a spare computer hooked up to the tv?

hdhomerun with mythtv? That is what I use. Mythtv is free, but requires some linux knowledge, and tweaking.

hdhomerun also works with windblows . I never used anything from microsoft but I have read good things about its dvr ability.

The good thing about the hdhomerun is that you do not have to open up the computer. it is networked, and configuring it is super simple.

It is a bit pricey thou.

Where you at in santa rosa?

I am on Gardenview Circle and my backyard has an unobstructed view to the south.


I looked at the hdhomerun and it looks pretty inexpensive. I've got experience wiht Unix so I'm not concerned about Linux but don't have a spare computer. I guess buying a PC is an option if the other H/W or S/W isn't expensive.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
381 Posts
Ah. That is why the 4221 works for you. You are up on the hill. I am down by coffee park. I need to use the biggest antenna I can.

You can pick up an ion based pc for 2 bills. Throw mythbuntu on it, and you are rolling.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
509 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by iitywygms /forum/post/19742468


hdhomerun with mythtv? That is what I use. Mythtv is free, but requires some linux knowledge, and tweaking.

Just curiously, have you been able to find some keystroke combination to keep the mythtv signal diagnostic information from timing out so quickly. I've found that clicking on a grid's program in "Watch TV" shows a signal indicator for just a brief (3 seconds) time interval.


Actually, the three signal meters on HDHR's GUI config are quite functional so I ask this purely out of curiosity.


As as ProjectSHO89 will surely agree, the Sencore's SPECT screen showing the waveform makes optimizing an antenna almost trivial.


But because you can't ever have too many data points, thus the question about making mythv's signal indicator persistent. :)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,009 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by iitywygms /forum/post/19742335


Where does kicu 36 broadcast from? I get them 80% of the time.

Atop the big hill on the Fremont/Milpitas border. Forgot the name of the mountain. You see the tower lights @ night from freeway 880

That antenna farm has 5 tv stations. All UHF, No VHF

KAXT01 RF 42

KICU36 RF 36

KSTS48 RF 49

KTEH54 RF 50

KDTV14 RF 51

I think that's it .... but see Larry's list for details.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
381 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by re_nelson /forum/post/19742611


Just curiously, have you been able to find some keystroke combination to keep the mythtv signal diagnostic information from timing out so quickly. I've found that clicking on a grid's program in "Watch TV" shows a signal indicator for just a brief (3 seconds) time interval.


Actually, the three signal meters on HDHR's GUI config are quite functional so I ask this purely out of curiosity.


As as ProjectSHO89 will surely agree, the Sencore's SPECT screen showing the waveform makes optimizing an antenna almost trivial.


But because you can't ever have too many data points, thus the question about making mythv's signal indicator persistent. :)


Tune to the station you want in mythtv. Open a terminal.


watch hdhomerun_config 1013EC88 get /tuner1/status


this updates every 3 seconds. Of course change to your hdhr tuner id#
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
381 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by re_nelson /forum/post/19742611


As as ProjectSHO89 will surely agree, the Sencore's SPECT screen showing the waveform makes optimizing an antenna almost trivial.

What is this you are talking about? Part of mythtv? Part of hdhr config utility?

Seems like something I would like to use.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
509 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by iitywygms /forum/post/19742657


Tune to the station you want in mythtv. Open a terminal.


watch hdhomerun_config 1013EC88 get /tuner1/status


this updates every 3 seconds. Of course change to your hdhr tuner id#

Aha...I was thinking that there was something within mythtv to make its signal quality indicator constant instead of transient.


Actually I run "hdhomerun_config" without even bothering to first tune the channel via mythtv. I've scripted a utility that does this. In the spirit of sharing open source, here's the Perl script I use. Feel free to modify it, improve it, spindle it or mutilate it:

Code:
Code:
#!/usr/bin/perl -w
#
# MODULE NAME: hdhr_channel.pl
#
# AUTHOR: Bob Nelson 
#
# DATE: 10 AUG 2010
#
# DESCRIPTION: Extracts signal information continually for antenna 
# adjustment -- much like a poor man's Sencore or like the GUI. Just
# send INT signal to terminate the loop.
#
# USAGE:
#
#   ./hdhr_channel.pl 
#

use strict;
use Time::HiRes qw(usleep);

sub nap($)
{
    my $secs = shift;

    usleep $secs * 1_000_000;
}

sub signal_info($)
{
    my $line = shift;

    if($line =~ /.*ss=(\\d+)\\s+snq=(\\d+)\\s+seq=(\\d+)/ && defined $1 && defined $2 && defined $3) {
        printf "%3d %3d %3d\
", $1, $2, $3;
        nap 0.5;
    }
    else {
        die "failed to parse signal: $line, exiting...\
";
    }
}

die "usage: $0 \
" unless @ARGV == 1;

my $channel = shift;
my $hdhr = '/usr/bin/hdhomerun_config';
my $tuner = 'tuner0';

my $dev_id = (split ' ', `$hdhr discover`)[2];
nap 1.0;

my $res = system qq|$hdhr $dev_id set /$tuner/channel $channel|;
die "set /$tuner/channel $channel failed, exiting...\
" unless !$res;

print "waiting for signal to lock...\
";
nap 4.0;

for(;;) {
    signal_info `$hdhr $dev_id get /$tuner/status`;
}
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
509 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by iitywygms /forum/post/19742665


What is this you are talking about? Part of mythtv? Part of hdhr config utility?

Seems like something I would like to use.

The SPECT display is part of the signal analysis tools available on a device that Trip in VA turned me onto via an ebay auction.


The device I have is a Sencore SLM-1456 which allows one to capture the waveform of stations as the thumbnails below show.


Optimizing an antenna becomes a breeze by adjusting to the highest and flattest waveform possible on the RF channels of interest. That's a simplistic explanation because there are other values to observe for such optimization (such as BER, P/V ratio and MER).




 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,326 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by cemcs /forum/post/19742394


I'm a new member and located in northern Santa Rosa and have a modified CM4221 that I'm currently using with a DTV converter box. The reception is very good and I'd like to step-up to HDTV and DVR.

I've had one of these for 2 years and it still works fine. The tuner is as good as any of the others I have. There's no subscription fee.

http://www.channelmaster.com/Digital..._DVR_s/120.htm


It was originally marketed by Dish Network and has changed labels a few times. It records two programs at once and feeds the antenna through to your TV to watch a third live.


There's a very long AVS Forum thread here:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1099071


The important thing is to read the first post so you're aware of known problems.


Chuck
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,860 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by iitywygms /forum/post/19741029


I was wondering if I would loose kofy because the 91xg is more directional. Kofy is off at a completely different angle than sutro.

It did lose snq points, but is still a solid signal.


cm4228


kofy ch=8vsb:503000000 lock=8vsb ss=80 snq=89 seq=100 bps=19394080 pps=952

kofy ch=8vsb:581000000 lock=8vsb ss=95 snq=79 seq=100 bps=19394080 pps=467


91xg


kofy ch=8vsb:503000000 lock=8vsb ss=72 snq=85 seq=100 bps=19394080 pps=913

kofy ch=8vsb:581000000 lock=8vsb ss=94 snq=68 seq=100 bps=19394080 pps=468

It appears that the 91XG works better for you than the 4228, in most cases. The two antennas have always been rated close to each other for best reception, and I've often wondered how much difference I'd see if I changed from the 4228 to 91XG. Your comparison shows me! Thanks. It just might be enough to bring in the stations from Walnut Grove that hover at the cliff edge.


As shown above, you list KOFY twice for both antennas with two different signal readings. There is only one KOFY, transmitting on channel 19 from Sutro Tower. I wonder why you have two listings for it and why they vary so much in value. You have an explanation for that?


I notice that you don't have any of the UHF stations listed that transmit from Mt. San Bruno. KTSF 26 (RF 27) and KKPX 65 (RF 41) are both full power stations that transmit from almost the same spot at KNTV. Have you ever seen them?


KICU 36 transmits on 36 from Monument Peak, in the hills above Fremont, which is 35 miles southeast of San Francisco. As 888CALLFCC noted, there are also other stations that transmit from that area. KTEH also transmits from Monument Peak, while the other three, KAXT 1 (RF 42), KSTS 48 (RF 49) and KDTV 14 (RF 51) transmit from Mt. Allison, about a mile north. KAXT is a low power station and the others vary a lot in power. You can check my list for more details.


Larry

SF
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,860 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by cemcs /forum/post/19742394


I'd like to avoid Tivo due to the subscription cost and have heard that a Dish 722 and certain DirecTv receivers, available from Craigslist, can legally be used without a subscription to view OTA HD. Are these is a good solution or is there a better tuner/DVR solution?

I'm not familiar with the DirecTV receivers, but I have the Dish 622 and it works very well for OTA reception. The 722 is newer, so might be even better. You won't get any schedule information on the Dish receiver, as that comes from the satellite and you need to have Dish service with local channels to get the schedule. The don't decode the schedule information received from the individual stations.


Larry

SF
 
7121 - 7140 of 18882 Posts
Top