AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
could you guys please give me advice weather its worth getting a SANYO PLC-5500N used for around $800 ? or should i wait for a better deal?

i only plan to watch dvd's on the porjector.

i'd greatly appreciate any input.

thank you!

·
Registered
229 Posts
I have a PLC-8800E, which I think is equiv to the US PLC-8810N. This is similar to the 5500N I beleive. What you have to remeber is that these projectors were originally designed as business projector so whilst they produce a nice desktop image, they lack the contrast of true HT projectors, which in terms of LCDs is lacking anyway. Remebering that, I use mine in my room for my 'Bedroom Home Theater' and will contine to do so while I am studying, but will probably upgrade when I get a real job. The scalers from sanyo's older projectors are absolute crap so you will definitely want a scaler or HTPC (what I use) to drive it. Mine, running at its native resolution of 1024 x 768 looks great to me although black is a greyish, but I still love the big screen feel and my friends dont even notice the shortcomings. Using a HTPC also allows greater colour controls which you may not get with standalone devices.

If you are looking for a manual, you will not find one on Sanyo's site, but an using this as an OEM, Proxima made a projector. Form my model it was called the 9210UG, do a search, find the matching model and download the user manual from the proxima web site.

Good luck and let me know if you have any more questions.

Andrew

·
Registered
229 Posts
After a quick check, they are very similar projectors but they use different bulbs and different resolutions. Same contrast ratio, same ansi lumenms, except yours is 832 x 624 pixels native and mine is 1024 x 768.