Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello AVSforum brethren:

I'm a newbie poster HT-phile and I hope someone will offer their two cents+ worth to help me out. I quest for the best bang for my buck in a front projector. My home theater is 18' x 19' with total light control and untill recently I was SOLD on the Sanyo PLV60. A Stewart electrimask 123" grayhawk HDTV formatted screen is the proposed viewing surface and my watch pattern is 50% DSS, 50% dvd's.

Recently, here and on TBPdvd.com site, I've been hearing about the ubiquitous "dust blobs" associated with the PLV-60. Also, Widescreen Review vol.10, May '01, p.41 suggested that 50-100 ft lamberts of brightness were requisite for a high-impact, RPTV-like image with moderate lighting present. I calculate only 28 ft-L with the PLV-60.

Using their formula: Screen Brightness(ft-L) = lumens x screen gain / screen area (sq ft). Where my variables are: 60" x 107" screen = 44.5 sq ft, lumens =1300 (PLV-60 literature), and grayhawk screen gain = .95

These new reports have me reconsidering my choices greatly. Should I perhaps decrease screen size from 123" to 110" in order to increase screen brightness? Should I go with the Studiotek 130 screen with 1.3 gain? Or perhaps the Seleco/Sim 2 HT200 or HT250 (I can get these at a discount from my installer) are my answer(s). What's this I hear (read) about a "DM" version with the Seleco DLP projector line. . .i.e., HT200DM? I'd like to keep projector expense under $10K. The "shoot-out" suggested the PLV-60 was a good buy.

Any help is appreciated. If this has been previously discussed please advise. Thanks!

Dr. DTextHT200DM

[This message has been edited by dr1574 (edited 06-18-2001).]

·
Registered
2,099 Posts