Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
663 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello All --

I am a newbie and in a bit of a conundrum. I have read through a number of threads discussing viewing distance and 'rule of thumbs'. Here's the deal: my theater is used for DVD movie watching about 95% of the time and games the other 5%. I don't watch television, ever.

I sit 8 feet from the front of the screen. I like a fairly good size screen for a cinematic, movie-type experience. I originally settled on the 55" Mitsubishi 55413 as it was a) in my price range and b) good for movies. When the delivery guys came today, the size and the shape of the TV simply couldn't make it downstairs into the movie room -- too big by a hair, and we tried for an hour. The 55" really struck me as "perfect," so I'm bummed.

I still want to go with a 413 model, as I can't afford even a small DLP. This leaves the 48" (smaller) or the 65" (comes apart into two pieces) to choose from. I'm concerned that the 48" viewing area will be too small. But 65" is probably too large. After all, 8 feet isn't that far! Does anyone have personal experience with seating like that on a crtRP that's this big?

What are the downside of the larger TV? All 3 of the TVs, 48, 55 and 65 use a 7" gun and a 5-lense setup. Does this mean that the 65 will be effectively less bright? Will it be proportionaltely less clear -- I would assume so -- at the same distance?

I spent time in the store, checking out a comparable TV for about 20 minutes from 8', and it's definitely big, but still significantly less of my vision that a movie screen would.

Opinions:

1) A 65" is something that's worth trying out. Since it's 480p movies all the time, and I want a cinematic experience, it may work out. Plus my salesguy needs to put his kids through college somehow.

2) I'm high as a freakin' kite, it's going to look poor, and I should just save the $$$ and buy the 48". It's plenty large enough.