AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just move into a new and i am install my old satellite dish. I don't want to spend money on hiring professional. Everything has been install except finding the signal. The only thing I have is a compass. My question is, what is the best way to find the signal? My IRD keep saying turn the satellite 3 degrees. My way of doing is every 10 second I turn the dish little by little. But I turn 180 degrees and still no signal. What did I do wrong. Can you guys help me with this. BTW, this is my first time install the satellite. Thanks so much.

·
Registered
2,203 Posts
I assume you are using a single 18" dish to point at one sat. The key to get started is: 1. Make sure the pole you are mounting it on is perfectly vertical. 2. Make sure the angle of elevation is set correctly on the scale on the dish.

You are correct in waiting a few seconds between each turn of the dish. Just turn it VERY slightly each time you turn it. Am assuming there is no possible obstruction.

...mike

·
Banned
4,969 Posts
Mike is 100% correct. The most important thing is be sure the mast is perfectly level. Put a level on the front of the mast to confirm it's absolutely vertically level. Set the elevation to the tick mark on the side of your dish, not the nut. Move the dish from left to right, slowly in the southern sky.

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
thanks for the answer. I will try again. My elevation is 44.8 and direction is southeast 145.1 degrees in Richmond, ca. My question is, does 44.8 have to be exactly? thanks again

·
Registered
2 Posts
Greetings,