AVS Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I am new to using mac's and I am adding a mac mini to my ht and need some help to get it all to work together. I would like all my media to be stored in my office on the Mac Pro 12core which has 4 hd bays and be able to access everything in the living room on the mac mini. my questions are, when i rip a movie on the 12core will I be able to watch it on the mac mini? what do i need to do to make this work and should i be looking at a external storage such as a drobo right of the start? I want to do this right the first time.

Thanks

·
Premium Member
3,025 Posts
Quote:
I would like all my media to be stored in my office on the Mac Pro 12core which has 4 hd bays and be able to access everything in the living room on the mac mini.
No problem.

Quote:
I want to do this right the first time.
Impossible, so give that expectation up. You don't know enough, there are too many variables--and you can't make an informed decision until you actually start doing things.

Quote:
should i be looking at a external storage such as a drobo right of the start?
No, you can think about getting a Drobo later. How much storage space do you have free in the Mac Pro, how many movies do you have to rip, how big is your music collection and what is your current backup strategy?

What else will the Mac Pro be doing when it is not serving up files to your mini?

Quote:
my questions are, when i rip a movie on the 12core will I be able to watch it on the mac mini?
what movies--dvd or blu-ray? what ripper? how will the mini be on your network--wired gigabit or wireless?

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·