AVS Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
FYI, I am a newbie at all this.. for example, just in the past week, I've learned what what an ohm IS (sort of!)

I'm trying to set up a speaker system for a long patio (about 40 X 12) with a Sherwood RX-5502 amp/receiver, 100 W X2, that will run A, B, C, D speakers, and three pairs of TIC ASP120 speakers 50/100 W, 8 ohm.

I want to have two different 'areas' of sound, and able to be turned on or off, on the patio... directly above the spa (about 10 X 10) and the remaining patio area (30 X 12). I'll be running the amp out of the bedroom, about 5 ft to the outside wall, and have runs from 15 - 40 ft. I plan on using 14 g wire.

I've decided I need a total of three pairs of speakers to get what I want done... one pair right above the spa, on 'A', and four speakers around the remaining patio area.

My issue:

I noted in the owners manual for the amp, that it says
Quote:
For safe amplifier operation, use the

speakers with impedance of over 8Ω when

you connect a pair terminals of SPEAKER A

and B terminals or/and a pair terminals of

SPEAKER C and D terminals and use the

speakers with impedance of over 16Ω when

you connect both SPEAKER A and B

terminals or/and both SPEAKER C and D

terminals.
Reading this is ridiculous... "or/and" what???
Nearest I can figure, this means that on this amp, the speakers 'A/B/C/D' run in parallel, so if you play A and B, with a pairs of 8 ohm speakers on each (like the TICs), you'll get a total impedance of 4 ohms, and risk the receiver overheating...

My questions:

1. Am I even reading this right?? If I have a pair of speakers on A, and a pair on B, will I be running at 4 ohms, and overheat my amp? How about A and C? (It has a 'Room 2' feature, that seems to let you adjust volume on AB and CD separately, and I'm not sure if this means AB and CD don't share impedance loads or not... )