AVS Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5,086 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im in the process of building an htpc, and its quite a bit of work, so i am currently planning everything out...

One thing i am interested in but have no experience with is qos I am a noob in this area of basic networking.

What I would basically like is priority given to the htpc.

Now I am asking for help here, because my internet provider actually has this stuff blocked out, and i had to find and download original actiontech v1000h firmware. I cant ask my provider for help at all, I could also not get bridged mode working at the moment so i cannot use my own router.

Before I begin i do want to ask does qos just prioritize bandwidth of your internet connection? I noticed in the actiontech bandwidth limit it lists 24079kbps which is my internet bandwidth. SO i assume qos has no regulation over stuff being streamed on your own network?

Anyway here is a picture of the router setup, im a bit confused why a destination and source ip are offered. I was wondering if anyone could offer me some advice on how I would set this up. Would I put my htpc ip address in the source or destination?

Below is a picture of the setup page.

http://imageshack.us/f/805/actiontechc.png/

·
Registered
1,125 Posts
QOS doesn't work over the Internet, and if you already have a gigabit LAN internally there isn't a reason to use QOS. QOS is beneficial if you will be connecting two LANs over a VPN and need to reserve bandwidth for a specific application like VOIP.

·
Registered
2,704 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Puwaha  /t/1420764/setting-up-qos-for-htpc#post_22229190

QOS doesn't work over the Internet, and if you already have a gigabit LAN internally there isn't a reason to use QOS. QOS is beneficial if you will be connecting two LANs over a VPN and need to reserve bandwidth for a specific application like VOIP.