AVS Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys,

I am very new to the HDTV game and have started to read the huge amount of information on upconverting DVD players that is on this site. However, my search did not reveal the answers that I am looking for. I'm sure this info is somewhere on this site, but figured someone will be able to chime in quickly with a response.

I recently bought a Sony SXRD (KDS-50A2000) and now want an upconverting DVD player. But, nobody at any electronics stores here seem to know the following:

1) With the advent of the 1080P upconverting players, will I be able to discern a noticeable difference if I bought a 1080P vs a 1080i upconverting DVD player? The choices would be the Samsung DVD-HD960 or the Oppo DV-981 for the 1080P, or a simple Sony NC75 (I think) for the 1080i.

2) Since my TV can display in 1080P, will the TV itself "upconvert" a 1080i signal to 1080P? If I buy a 1080i upconverting DVD player and feed the TV that signal, would I be able to view a 1080P picture via the TV's own upconverter (if it even has one)??

·
Registered
315 Posts
I have a KDS55A2000 and had a regular non progressive DVD player and the the SXRD displayed the output nicely at 1080p. In fact all content will be upscaled to 1080p no matter what it is being input.

The SXRD has a nice upscaling function. The issue is which will be better the one on the DVD player or the TV. You could spend a $1500 on a Denon and get world class upscaling but even that may only be a slight improvement as there is only so much info on a SD-DVD.

I choose to get a Toshiba A1 HD-DVD player which can display HD DVD at the native resolution and look awesome and also upscales SD DVD very nicely. An HD-A2 from toshiba can be found for $400 which is only $100-150 more than an Oppo.