AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
For those located in the Phoenix area. Ultimate Electronics at Ray and I10 has a Sharp XV-Z9000 set-up in one of their demo rooms. They have it connected to a Yamaha progressive scan DVD player (1200). It is displaying on a Draper screen. I am guessing about 92" diag. Supposedly the Sharp was just set-up today. I am currently in the market and just happened to stop into the store to look around.

I am building a dedicated home theater in my new home scheduled for completion in mid-Nov. But, I am very new to the home theater world. I will give you my impressions, but beware they are from a newbie and from about 20-30 minutes of view time of a single DVD.

My only real video experience to date has been a 36" direct view or LCD projectors at business meetings. I was very impressed with the picture the Sharp displayed. Colors were outstanding. Text and detail images were crisp, not nearly as soft as I was expecting for a projector. I hear much about the poor black levels of digital projectors, the Sharp appeared to have very good black levels. Overall I would be very happy with this projector in my new home theater.

I talked to one of the sales staff briefly. He was more interested in selling me a unit than answering my questions. Seems they have several in stock. Their list price is $9999, but with some short negotiation he quickly went to $8000. The ceiling mount which I will need he quoted at $249, but indicated he could go a little lower.

I am hoping to go back this weekend to do some more viewing.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I will follow-up on the bulb replacement. Other item I forgot to mention is that they also have a Sony 11HT available in the same room. I tried to do a comparison but unfortunately it needed calibration, the screen was mostly red.

·
Registered
5,574 Posts
jeffb,