AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2,378 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just got back from a couple hours at Duocom in Richmond Hill, Ontario. Thanks to Craig Bishop for taking the time to show the 5 projectors to me. They have a huge boardroom there. Here are my impressions of the projectors.

Let me qualify my comments by saying that I am a newbie to front projectors. My only viewing experience was with a NEC LT150 that I had overnight last week to demo. I posted last week about how I got massive eyestrain and headache by watching the LT150 for a couple of hours. The eyestrain lasted for 3 days and was so intense that I swore I would not buy a DLP projector.

That is the extent of my viewing experience. Your impressions will vary from my, your eyeballs are different from mine. What my time at Duocom taught me is that YOU must see any projector before you buy it. Do not depend on comments on the web or reviews by others. Use them as a guide to narrow down the field of projectors. Everyone has their own set of requirements, needs, wants, budgets and viewing situations.

All viewing was done on a whoflungdung run of the mill DVD player: interlaced with S-Video into the projectors. I believe the screen was a draper 1.0. I didn't pay close attention to noise levels, because I am looking to project from the rear, so noise isn't as important to me. I was viewing using the Star Wars Phantom Menace DVD. There was no audio during the viewing which was strange at first, but it really forces you to focus on the picture and not on the movie. Viewing was done with some lights on and no daylight.

Infocus LP530 DLP (2000 Lumen)

===========================

This is an impressively bright projector. Fan noise was noticeable at 2000 lumen but went down substantially when the lumen was dropped down to 1600. The light difference between 2000 and 1600 wasn't that big, surprisingly.