AVS Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
240 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been using ReplayTV for the past 4 years and have never seen this happen until just this past week. While watching a recorded show it will stop playback and display the screen that normally shows at the end of a recording asking if you want to delete the show or play another recorded show. For example, last night we were watching the 2 hr American Idol episode recorded on Tuesday. About half way thru it stopped and displayed the "Delete this episode/play another show" screen. I selected play another show and could see that episode had recorded a full 2 hours. So I selected the same episode we were in the middle of watching and it started playing the show right from where it had stopped. This happened 2 more times while we were watching American Idol. The same thing has happened with a couple other shows that my wife watched over the past few days.

In each case I believe that the show being watched was being streamed from a replaytv somewhere else in the house. I use Buffalo wireless routers to connect the Replays throughout the house and have had them for several years without seeing this behavior. Have not made any changes to my network or the ReplayTV setup for at least a year. Anybody else ever encounter this?

·
Registered
275 Posts
Yes. I have seen this several times while streaming from one replay to another. I believe that it's a network timeout issue which confuses the replay and causes the "play another show' message to appear.

I have found that the simplest solutions is to hit the seven second rewind button. This should cause play to resume, but don't be surprised if you have to do this a couple more times before the show finishes.

RW

·
Registered
61 Posts