AVS Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a Denon AVR-1312 XP system which includes 5 speakers and a subwoofer. No matter what I do, the "S" sounds from people speaking bother me. It's too bright? Or really high frequency? They don't sound natural, I'm not an expert but my headphones and computer speakers all sound fine. I had a soundbar previously as well which didn't have this problem.

Now, you may be thinking it's the speakers. But I actually bought different (better) speakers to hook up and tried them out and the problem remains leading me to believe it's the receiver causing this. Is that possible? It's really, really annoying. I like them otherwise but since obviously there's so many times an "S" will pop up, it's impossible to ignore.

I tried turning the treble down, the channel level of the center speaker down, etc. and it still doesn't help much.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·

Quote:
Originally Posted by derrickdj1  /t/1472921/sibilance-brightness-caused-by-reciever-denon-avr-1312#post_23321489

Try lowering the 3.5-6 kHz band with an EQ'er.
How? The receiver has no equalizer I can see...

The speakers included are SYS-1312 from Denon. The new ones I'm using are from Sony and Energy Take Classic. And no it's not possible to try a different amp.

·
Banned
1,520 Posts
The only thing I can think of is perhaps the Denon's room correction mis-calibrated. Did you try running the Denon in 2 channel pure mode, or whatever mode in which room correction is not applied? Being that it sounds fine with your computer speakers makes me suspect the Audyssey.

·
Banned
1,520 Posts