AVS Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a lifetime Sirius subscription. You are allowed to transfer it three times. My first radio was a Sportster replay which died. I transferred the service to a Streamer Replay, which is basically the same radio. While it's still alive, I'm sure it will die eventually.

I'd like to find a radio that I can transfer the service to that is most likely to last for decades. Preferably one with good outputs (digital, optical, etc). A stand alone home radio or component radio would probably be best... or if I could transfer it to a Sonos type system where I won't have the "three time transfer limitation" I'd be fine.

I'm very flexible, I just want a radio that won't die, or at least has the least likely chance of dying. Any recommendations?

·
Registered
296 Posts
I had this problem.

My solution: Mini Tuner

Then I picked up a Denon S-52 and the home-kits for it and my home receiver which is XM-Ready.

I also have a Kenwood Adapter for my care which accepts the mini-tuner.

What I'm betting on:

- The Denon S-52 and my home stereo receiver (Onkyo) should last a good 10 years.

- My hoping to get a good number of years (hopefully a decade) out of my car which I installed the Kenwood receiver into.

- I also picked up a couple of refurb'd Samsung Nexus' so I can have portable (well, just recorded portable) XM. They use the XM Mini Tuner. I'm also figuring this gets me something I can toss into a rental car (with the car adapter) and, worse case, if my next car stereo won't accept the Kenwood XM module (that takes the mini-tuner) I can at least fall back on the Samsung Nexus.

Of course, the mini tuner could just crap out. I'm figuring that the tuner portion is the most stable bit of the electronics and that most of the time the displays, for example on the PNPs, would have crapped out first.

It's all just a guess, though.

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·