AVS Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I may be out to lunch with this approach but given the LCDs I'm looking at and their abundant inputs... I'm not sure I'm all that interested in video pass thru or switching on my next receiver - just an ability to decode/output 5.1 in addition to normal stereo for audio sources.

Or maybe I'll end up w/ an AV receiver but perhaps not use the video switching... At any rate my interest is to focus on simplified and straightforward functionality with a minimum of 'features' (think Tivoli Model One radio - have one at the office and love it!).

Appreciate any opinion or suggestions...

·
Registered
7 Posts
I've been using an HT processor for 10 years that has the video switching capability but I never use it because the video signal goes to the screen and the audio digital signal goes to the HT processor.

With these days of HDMI, they've trapped us into using video switching circuitry as well. I'm sure there are HDMI break-out cables out there that can put the digital audio into SPDIF format on RCA plugs but Blu-ray hi-res audio uses audio formats that are incompatible with SPDIF.

If you want a quality surround sound experience, then you'll need a dedicated processor and with HDMI, you'll likely need a video-switching processor too so that the neatness of HDMI can be utilised.

Cheers

sutherk

·
Registered
18,923 Posts
If you want to run HDMI to both your TV and receiver, there are options.

You can always forego lossless audio and run optical or digital coax to your receiver too.

I run all my video sources through my receiver, and I am happy with that setup. I run a single HDMI cable to my TV, and never use the TVs audio.

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
OK - yes I see what you are saying unfortunately. So it's all 'integrated' into a single cable so to speak. Hmmm....