Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1,797 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

I must admit I am new to LCD technology, as I've primarily used tubes. However, I am looking at purchasing a couple of 6" monitors for use around the house (kitchen, etc.) and have seen 2 types of lcd monitors. These are "LCD" or "TFT/LCD". Am I correct in assuming that the "LCD" types ar the passive matrix LCD's and the "TFT/LCD" types are the active matrix LCD's?

I want to make sure I clear this up before I purchase.

Thanks,

Russ

·
Registered
476 Posts
Russ

I would imagine any TFT LCD manufacturer would indeed emphasize the TFT designation. Another acronym you might encounter is AM LCD (Active Matrix LCD).

Mike

·
Registered
32,172 Posts
No TV-class panel is passive matrix any more. They are are TFT-LCD which is the same thing as saying active-matrix.

TFT = thin-film transistor and implies that each pixel is directly driven by one of those, i.e. it's an "active matrix."

Mark

·
Registered
476 Posts
Russ

I would not assume AM type if it's not stated anywhere.

If you search on the Internet, you will definitively find some 6" LCD devices that are not active-matrix type. Can you post a link to a Web page?

Mike

·
Registered
476 Posts
Russ

I looked at several Web sites and most of them state that this particular model is indeed TFT/AM.

The 6" model probably is not.

Also you may look at this one: http://autoronics.site.yahoo.net/cm701w.html

Be aware of the odd resolutions.

For the CM701W model it is quoted as: "1,440(W) x 234(V) DOTS."

I have seen low vertical pixel counts before.

Maybe Rogo can comment on that.

Mike

·
Registered
1,797 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Thanks Mike,

To show you how I was confused, I also saw this screen:

http://www.etronics.com/product.asp?...m71&svbname=30