AVS Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2,089 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have recently put together a nice 2.1 setup, in my bedroom. This is used for an occasional movie, night time TV and all of my music listening. I have a very limited budget, but I wondered if Acoustical Treatment might be able to improve things some. This is just a very basic 2.1 setup, listening position is on my bed. Forgive the awful drawing on my layout. lol It looks like first reflection points are not possible, except for the ceiling. I was thinking an absorption pad at the ceiling first reflection point. Now there is only roughly a foot behind my head to the rear wall. I wanted to put a diffuser panel behind my head, but I'm wondering how beneficial it would be so close to my ears?

Those are really the only things I had in mind in this room, with my budget. Would absorption panels behind each speaker itself help? I am extremely new to all of this. What do you think, guys? ALso, if it matters, I have a Pioneer 1120 with MCACC. Ideally, I would like to buy a MIC and borrow my girlfriends laptop and take measurements and see how the treatments work and even move them around if needed, but only if I find this room worth the investment in the first place.

(My 42" plasma is wall mounted above the speakers and my other equipment (AVR, stereo Amp, BD player) is on the dresser between the speakers.)

·
Registered
2,089 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Would real pictures help? Or did I ask in the wrong area?

·
Registered
6,162 Posts
Your post is fine, but you say you have a problem with acoustics and then say you can't treat the walls, so I saw no point in replying.

In the mean time, this short article explains the basics in plain English:

Acoustic Basics

More here:

How to set up a room
Early Reflections

This answers your question about diffusors near your ears:

All About Diffusion

--Ethan

·
Registered
2,089 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·