AVS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
633 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
so, i've just added an SMS-1 to my setup and need a fact-check on what i've done thus far. i'm a relative novice, so the intricacies of PEQ adjustment are a bit of a mystery. i understand what the three adjustments are (freq, boots, width), but how are they best applied? anyway, i...

1) moved sub to my listening position (actually up on the couch).

2) hooked it all up per the velodyne docs.

3) set pre/pro eq to 'off' (not 'flat').

4) played sms test sweeps with sub & mains active, level matched sub with mains as best i could (using sms volume control), moved the mic to the handful of possible locations for the sub (down on the floor), found the flattest 'raw' location.

5) manually eq-ed the sub to be as flat as possible, figuring it would stay that way (mostly) after i switched sub/mic.

6) swapped sub/mic, replayed test tones, checked level matching.

7) manually re-eq-ed the sub to be as flat as possible at the primary listening position, including big 15-20hz boost to get that end up as high as possible (sealed sub doesn't dig ultra deep). surprised to see that the gorgeous flat curve i had with the sub on the couch is not the same with the positions switched?

8) re-ran the audyssey calibration (8pt multieq-xt, position 1 being where i placed the sms mic during eq).

9) looked at sms sweeps again...but changed nothing.

i figure this method allows audyssey to see the eq-corrected sub as a 'virtual' sub, about which it could then gather accurate data and calibrate. as expected, the distance measured to the sub went up a few feet do to the sms dsp delays, and the final sms sweep is no longer flat.

have yet to do any serious listening, but i can say that at first blush, there is definitely more subsonic info, and perhaps more detail overall. i had a big hole at 50hz that is mostly filled (thanks to some serios PEQ slider stacking).