AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
708 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So will it be "safe" to connect the X-box or GAMECUBE to a HDTV set?, is it for sure that these devices won't damage the TV? For example, I have a Pioneer SD-582-5HD and I'm very sure that in the owner's manual it warns about connecting and using video game consoles, since they could "damage" the TV.

·
Registered
8,143 Posts
One good thing I just read this past week is that the game cube will have HTDV resolution games. The Star Wars game is the only one that's been anounced at the high resolution.

By HDTV do you mean RP-HDTV? Manufacturers always advise against playing video games on RPTVs. The reaon dates back to the old days of video games. Static screens are bad, burn-in will be the result. I worked as a game programmer for years. And it's my personal belief that for the most part games are not too bad these days. Projection displays always seem to become victim of quick burn-in.

Back to the days of the Atari 2600 when FPTVs were in their infancy... Atari, Intellivision and Coleco had mostly static screens with some minor movement. These games could easily cause burn-in.

These days everything is moving except for status and score indicators. This would be my only concern. But, I'm also concerned with financial channel tickers and those static channel logos.

Video games fall into 4:3 content on a 16:9 display with letterbox bars. Moderation is the key! Switch content and modes and you should be fine.

[This message has been edited by Jeff D (edited 08-31-2001).]

·
Registered
13,771 Posts
The logos and energy tickers, etc. for these games should move slowly or randomly. That would alleviate screen burn.

------------------
www.deceptions.net

·
Registered
708 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Yes JefF, my Pioneer is an RPTV, that is why I want to know if these new game consoloes would damage my TV befdore I buy any of them.

·
Registered