AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
379 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone! Just when I thought I'd settled on a RPTV unit, I read an article that almost convinced me to buy a DLP or LCD projector.

Problem is, I am VERY new to this and need a Projector 101 course. My HT will also be used occassionally for general TV and sports. I am aware of the limited lamp life with these things, but if it costs me $300 a year in lamps for a good experience, I am OK with that.

I was going to spend about $4000 on a 61" Hitachi RPTV. Can you recommend a better investment of that money in an LCD or DLP projection and screen setup? My room is 27'D x 18'W x 7'H.

I'd like to get a motorized screen (that retracts into the ceiling) also. Any recommendations that won't break the bank?

If I get an LCD or DLP projector, what do I need to hook it up to my progressive scan DVD player? Do I need a HT PC?

·
Registered
9,769 Posts
havok,

fortunately you are here.

Demo as many unit as you can but ALWAYS take the salesmens comments with a grain of salt. They rearely know what they are talking about.

If you research technology and do searches on this forum you will know more that 95% of the salesment out there in less than a week. Within a month wyou should start getting an idea of what you want.

Demo as many units as you can!

·
Registered
379 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
msink,

Thanks for the info. Yes, the cieling is only 7' High. That is why I am considering a DLP or LCD projector. They are much smaller and shouldn't stick down too far. I've very few friends over 6'4" tall. ;)

The room is literally being finished still. I plan to have total light control. Because of the height, all of the lights will be recessed or mounted in wall sconces.

Can the Sanyo PLV-60HT also do 4:3 for regular television?

On the subject of screens, a painted wall would work for me, but how does that affect the image vs. a good screen?