1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
5,639 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Posted on SOCOM.com

Quote:
Hi SOCOM folks,

I'm a music editor at SCEA, and I wanted to share with you some of the cool stuff our department is doing with Slant Six on the music for SOCOM: U.S. Navy SEALs Confrontation.

Our main goal is to musically score each player's experience in the game on a personal level without being too informative or distracting. When the battle does heat up though, expect some incredible tracks from Justin Burnett to accompany gameplay. I've included one in this post to give you a taste. Also, if you preorder from Amazon, you'll get 5 more.

The main way we determine when and how to play music is by what we call the "Combat Intensity System". Game events are tracked - enemies letting off rounds, bullets whizzing by your head, someone chucking a frag grenade - these are all factored into the combat intensity. When the value of intensity reaches a certain threshold, combat music kicks in to accompany the ensuing chaos. Over time the total combat intensity value goes down so that events from too far in the past don't affect the system.

The analogy we like to use is it to imagine a bucket. Whenever something exciting (gunshots, explosions, etc) happens in game, water gets poured into the bucket. Now imagine that this bucket has a small hole in the bottom that water leaks out of slowly. If enough water is thrown into the bucket at one time, the bucket overflows and at that point we play music.