AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
474 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to this. I've been editing on my Pioneer 633. I think I'd rather edit and make menus on the computer and not tie up my tv. I'd love to hear any suggestions for good software to use. I'd like to put shows on a DVD-RW and then put them on my computer to edit.

Thanks,

Steve

·
Registered
3,700 Posts
TMPGenc DVD Author at the Pegasys website or boxed in Comp USA or Microcenter under the Tsunami brand name. $49 for boxed version. Great program can handle both VR and Video mode discs as a source.

·
Registered
580 Posts
I agree wotj Vferrari. Very simple to use and you can create custom menus, chapter points etc. Tsunami version has the AC3 audio plug in, which normally costs $20 more on top the $79 Tempeg price

·
Registered
948 Posts
The TDA has a $25.00 rebate bringing its' price down to $25.00. The box (I just received it) says under 'main functions' that it encodes AC3. It doesn't mention it under 'output' though.

BTW both products bnbhoha refers to are made by Tsunami. The $49.00 version is just the Digital Author. But my trial software appeared to do it all. Input, Edit, Author and Burn.

The $79.00 (less $20.00 rebate) version is called Tsunami DVD EASY PACK. It includes VIDEO ENCODER EXPRESS, MEDIA EDITOR AND DVD AUTHOR. All 3 are 'easy edition'. Some think the 'Easy Edition is the lite version with more options to input but overall less features. ENCODER (easy edition) outputs AC3. Author (easy) as well as TDA outputs MPEG-1 and linear PCM. Confusing to say the least.

·
Registered
795 Posts