AVS Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im sorry if this is in the wrong section. If it is, mod/admin please move.

Im looking into either making or buying a system for my house and im a little confused as to what set up should I go for as im new to all of this kind of thing. Basically, I want a place to store all of my downloaded movies and tv and to view them on my 40 HDTV. I also want the system to be able to stream the movies, tv, music etc to other laptops around the house and to be able to watch and record free sat HD channels.

I have read many different posts on here and on other forums, but none of them seem to combine all that I want.so what system would be best for what I want? A NAS, HTPC or a Media Server or something ells?

My requirements :-

It must be quiet. As the system box will be in my living room or under the TV.

It must use relatively little power when it's not streaming media. This device will be running 24/7 and so running costs cannot be ignored.

It must not generate a lot of heat.

It must be flexible enough to do pretty much what I want with it.

I want to be able to record TV programmes with it. I then want to be able to stream these programmes around the house. I have a few laptops and a PS3, iphone and ipods too, so it must be able to support these.

It must be able to run torrent downloads. I want this build to automatically download my favourite TV shows and make these shows available to stream and play on my PS3, iphone or ipod.

It must be powerful enough to support multiple, simultaneous, High-Definition video streams. Not only that, but it must be able to do this whilst doing other things too, such as backing up my desktop or laptop computers or re-encoding video files.

It must be headless. BUT I need a GUI interface.

It must be stable. I don't want to be tinkering with it every 5 minutes. Nor do I want to be rebooting it every couple of days.