AVS Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I first posted under MississippiMud's thread where it listed how to make RS_Maxxmudd to ask some questions. He has been very helpful! I got to thinking that I shouldn't have flooded his thread with my questions so I decided to start my own thread.

I'm a complete noob when it comes to home theatre. I'll start off by letting you know where I'm at. I recently purchased a used projector. I had been projecting on a piece of blackout cloth purchased from a fabric store. I decided I wanted a bigger screen but didn't want to drop the money on an expensive screen due to Christmas being right around the corner. That's when I started researching painted screen and ran across the MaxxMudd.

I added a drywall wall in the basement. I spent probably 5 days on two joints to make sure they turned out smooth. I then put two coats of "sheetrock first coat" followed by two coats of Kilz oil based primer while sanding between each coat. It looks great with no visual imperfections. I then sprayed a coat of semi-gloss (didn't have gloss on hand) just to see if any imperfections stuck out and still didn't notice any.

Below is my last post from the other thread and is where I am at.