AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
277 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Thanks to you guys and the ffdshow faq, I have gotten ffdshow working with the windvd filters, abstract filter and reclock 1.1

I am using resize, and then blur and NR (gradual denoise of 40). I have resize set to 1440 x 1152 and I was getting around 88% cpu usage which I was delighted with. Today when playing with the settings I saw the video beginning to stutter. I have spent the last few hours installing WinDVD, reclock and ffdshow and couldn't get the 100% cpu usage down. I had to use something like 1024x1024 to get under 100% cpu usage.

A few minutes ago I started playing again with ffdshow and was watching the cpu usage. When I enable Blur and NR (gradual denoise), the cpu usage went back down to 88%. For the life of me I can't work out why this should be. I moved Blur and NR back above resize, and the same, then back below.

Does anyone know why this is, and if you are getting 100% usage, I suggest you try denoise. This is with the latest alpha build of ffdshow.

One other thing I found was that using Lanczos resize method, some parts of the image have a blue area around them. I was testing on some dvd menus, star wars episode II menu actually, where the buttons for Play, Chapter Selection etc is. With lanczos (which some forum members prefer and which uses lots of cpu power), I can see a blue area around the text in Play. Look to the right of the Y in Play. I took a capture of the menu in WinDVD and zoomed in in paint.

When zoomed, there isn't the slighest hint of blue there so lanczos is doing a bad job of enhancing the image IMO. Bicubic and Experimental look pretty much identical to me and Experimental uses hardly any cpu power compared to the other two.

What do you guys think of Experimental?