AVS Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi

I recently purchased SONOS Playbar and did so a tad too quickly as I now realise I am running into some technical issues preventing true DD5.1 to my Playbar.

[UPC is my Cable TV provider in Ireland]

My setup is

UPC Digital + (No HD available yet in my area) - old PVR with Scart to Samsung UE40ES5500K Smart TV and Playbar connected to TV via optical fibre.

Blueray connected via HDMI into TV.

I also have two SONOS Play 3 hooked up with Playbar

My main question is am I reliant on UPC providing a specific sound format to me in order for me to avail of true 5.1 surround? Or is it irrelevant what format I receive from UPC and is it my SONOS Playbar which produces the 5.1 surround.

I know I need to upgrade PVR so as I have a HDMI or optical interface to TV but question is what else do I need.

Thanks in Advance

·
Registered
32 Posts
I'm no expert, but from what I've been reading, the biggest offender when it comes to 5.1 audio not being sent to the Playbar is the TV itself. It seems that most TV's, regardless of input audio format, only output 2.0 stereo via optical.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Its a Samsung SMART TV UE40ES5500K which in its specs states

Audio:

Dolby Digital Plus/Dolby Pulse

SRS TheatreSound HD

Dts 2.0 + Digital Out Available

So is my presumption of it outputting DD5.1 inaccurate?

·
Registered
9,399 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by rob171171  /t/1469314/sonos-playbar-dd5-1-setup-frustration#post_23229302

I am running into some technical issues preventing true DD5.1 to my Playbar.

My setup is

UPC Digital + (No HD available yet in my area) - old PVR with Scart to Samsung UE40ES5500K Smart TV and Playbar connected to TV via optical fibre.
Blueray connected via HDMI into TV.
Quote:
Originally Posted by KipNet  /t/1469314/sonos-playbar-dd5-1-setup-frustration#post_23231518