Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
108 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

A friend has a 1292 that has a focus problem on the Blue tube.

I think it may be an electronic problem more than a bad tube as all the others including the blue one have no burns and appear to be in excellent cond (I know lots of things can go wrong internally with the tube....but I just need to convince myself).

The projector has low hours on all tubes (He brought the projector with this problem, so we cannot find out if the problem came on gradually or not) so I would like to do some more checking before I commit to telling him to replace the tube.

At this stage I plan to swap the "bad" tube with one of the good ones to see if the problem follows the tube.

If it turns out not to be the tube, does anyone know if there is a workshop manual on the net somewhere for it?

cheers

John:cool:

·
Registered
177 Posts
I'm no expert on this stuff, but are you sure you have a problem with the tube. The blue tube is always appears blurry and is de-focussed slightly from the factory and is noticably less sharp than green or red tubes.

Use the H test pattern and if the focus across it is uneven or you can't make out the H distinctly then you may have a priblem. You then need to narrow down whether it is a optical focus problem(lens) or an electronic focus problem(tube).