Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 61 Posts

·
Registered
3,046 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Folks,

I have read tons of msgs on this board mentioning that DLP is a newer and better technology than RP LCD, etc. Now the big Q is that IF that is true and is future tech, why is SONY not investing in it or is it? I cannot imagine Sony will all their resources and strongest brand in TVs would not invest in some technology touted to be the latest and greatest? I am a newbie in big screens and finalizing on a 60'' TV.

As for me, I have just ordered the Sony XBR 60'' TV two days back. I still have abt 4 weeks before I get the shipment of the TV and therefore am still open to make the right decision.

Thanks!

·
Registered
2,515 Posts
Sony does not pay royalties on LCD's and they've decided to explore LCoS for future products, which is also royalty free.

·
Banned
29,681 Posts
DLP is a technology developed by Texas Instruments.

TI makes the DLP DMD chips....

Sony won't Pay Texas Instruments for their technology....So SONY settles for other lesser and inferior technologies.

TO avoid flames: By "INFERIOR TECHNOLOGY" I mean- LCD and LCos. And by "inferior" I mean that both do not have as good blacks, or contrast, or reliability.

·
Registered
2,530 Posts
Mfusick, I wouldn't fully agree that LCoS is inferior to DLP for these reasons:

- it may get close enough to DLP in PQ that most won't care

- as semiconductor, it may end up beating DLP in price performance

- it may make 1080p economical for everyone

This is all future of course, but promising.

And I think that would be Sony's stance, and Intel's. The question is: How will Sony deal with Intel?

·
Registered
2,530 Posts
Quote:
Originally posted by Mfusick
No one can make a good LCos set yet
I would agree with that.

I think all new technologies like this take a long time to mature.