AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,468 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Does the 999 have the same/better advanced picture adjustments as the 9000 ?

Background:

I have just borrowed a friend's Sony 9000 SACD/DVD player to feed component into my Holo3D card in my HTPC, then out to my JVC SX21 via DVI. Naturally, the 9000 "blows away" the 2 very inexpensive Pioneer DVD players I have at my disposal. Of great benefit to the 9000 is its vast array of picture controls within its setup. However, I want to buy a multi-channel SACD/DVD player, preferably the 999 or upcoming Yamaha DVD-S2300 MK2, and eventually have it SDI modifed to feed my Holo3D card.

thanks - Andy

·
Registered
63 Posts
Andy--

This is my first time to hear of a "MK 2" 2300. Where did you hear about it and do you know what the difference from current 2300s is supposed to be?

·
Premium Member
2,468 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
A local dealer mentioned the DVD-S2300 MK2 last week and that it will be shipping in the summer. He did not know anything of it either.

Also, an acquaintance in Montreal mentioned that his local dealer mentioned a MK2 that will be available this summer.

From its review, it had great SACD performance, but poor CD & DVD-A performance. Hopefully they are improving upon this.

- Andy

·
Registered
285 Posts
The c-bug in the 999 seems easy to spot for some, not so easy for others. I haven't had a problem with it. Others, especially those with very big projector screen seem to have an easier time finding it. The picture quality is actually pretty decent. You have to start analizing things to find any weaknesses.

It seems that some folks are obsessed with the bug. For most, if you are watching the movie you don't see it.