AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
136 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm somewhat new to all this, so please bear my ignorance.

I've been reading about the new Sony Grand WEGA III, but then I'm also hearing about an XBR model coming out a bit later. What's the difference between the current model of the GWIII and the XBRs?

Thanks!

·
Registered
394 Posts
The XBR950 will have an OTA digital/HD tuner, a slightly different cabinet, a 120w lamp instead of a 100w lamp, and a few other very minor differences for $1500 more! Most of everything else is exactly the same between the new GWIII (WE610) and the new XBR950, including the new LCD panels with slightly higher resolution from the current XBR models. It appears that the new GWIII has a better PQ than previous models...much brighter and higher contrast than the 2003 XBR models.

If you already have a satellite/OTA or OTA HD tuner, don't bother with the XBR...just go for the WE610 (the 42" and 50" models are out now with the 60" model due out later this month). Since I already have the Sony HD-200 satellite/OTA digital/HD receiver, I didn't think the XBR is worth another $1500. I have the 60" GWIII on order.

·
Registered
231 Posts
The cabinet is wayyy different in my opinion. That alone almost warrants the extra money:) Kidding of course.

·
Registered
394 Posts
According to the manual (available online), both XBR models (60" and 70") will have a 120w lamp, but from what I understand, that alone may not drastically improve the brightness and contrast (although technically, there should be a 20% increase) over the non-XBR GWIII; probably still not worth an extra $1500, but that of course it up to each individual to decide.

Personally, if the PQ is close or equal to that of the 50" and 42" GWIII, I be very pleased with the 60" KF-60WE610 and happy to pocket the extra $1500.

·
Registered
61 Posts