AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first projector (thanks Donnie) and I have a long list of questions. They may seem kind of dumb but I will ask anyway. Thanks.

-Does anyone have a manual on this one?

-I did a basic setup and the screen size is around 68 inches. Is there any way to make the picture larger (100"ish)? Would it need more that a 13 foot throw distance?

-There is a weird rainbow that is cast right under the picture that seems to be reflecting off of some sort of internal fluid (coolant?). The rainbow even ripples whenever I bump the projector. What could this be and is it bad?

-I don't hear any fans, but it did not get hot after an hour of running. Does this sound good.

-Can I harm the crts if I crank up the picture brightness, and watch widescreen movies?

-Could I connect a DVD with a component output (3 cables) into a RGB input (5 cables)?

I think that these are the main questions for now. Obviously I am a greenhorn to this. Thanks again

Dcmicrobe

·
Registered
16,530 Posts
dcmicrobe ,

I thought you got a Sony 103X series PJ from Donnie ?

You certainly can have a larger image than 68 inches diagonal . Most of these smaller Sony units are designed for a 60x80 4:3 image [ 100 inch diagonal ] - If it is a VPH-722Q then it may be set for a 72 inch diagonal image from the factory . By having the projector [ front of center lens ] about 120 inches away from the screen/wall you should obtain the best focus and brightness balance .

Do not push the brightness to the maximum as it will certainly decrease the tube [crt] life .

The rainbow that you are seeing is from the liquid inside - you have air pockets in the liquid which usually happens when the projector is moved around too much [ like from shipping ]. You can adjust away from this by shifting the convergence/image grid higher or lower depending upon if the projector is inverted or not .