AVS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
206 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys,

I'm looking to buy a 65" 4k Sony TV.

I've always got on with the brand and have other Sony hardware, so it's just down to a choice of models.

Looking at the 4k sets currently out, I prefer the X850A for not having the speakers on the sides, however I really can't stand Active 3D (I have the NX723 which is great 2D but rubbish for 3D). I have quite a large number of 3D blu-rays, which I want to enjoy with passive 1080p 3D.

What I've come to is the following choice:

2013 X900A model:

+ Local Dimming

+ Passive 3D

- Won't support Netflix 4k when it comes out

- Speakers on sides

2014 X850B model:

+ Passive 3D

+ Will support Netflix 4k when it comes out

+ No speakers on sides

- Frame dimming

I'd go for a higher end 2014 model, but they all seem to be active 3D.

Does anyone have advice if it's worth waiting for the X850B? Will it be worse picture quality than the X900A?

My major issues with the X900A is the speakers (is there any way to use the side speakers in a 5.1 setup?) and future support of Netflix 4k

Cheers

·
Registered
216 Posts
If you currently use a good 5.1 the speaker won't be as good or work as part of it but you can turn the TV audio off. But if your using just a sound bar these sound better than any non $2,000 sound bar plus Sony does sell a stand alone sub woofer that can be plugged into it to add to the sound even more.

·
Banned
179 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Covfam  /t/1523122/sony-x850b-or-x900a#post_24498367

If you currently use a good 5.1 the speaker won't be as good or work as part of it but you can turn the TV audio off. But if your using just a sound bar these sound better than any non $2,000 sound bar plus Sony does sell a stand alone sub woofer that can be plugged into it to add to the sound even more.

Thanks Covfam.