AVS Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'll start by saying that I am a novice at display calibration, but I feel like I am starting to get a handle on things, thanks to this forum. I have a Sony KDL-40XBR3 LCD display, and I've calibrated it using a Spyder II sensor with HCFR. I've been able to achieve pretty accurate grayscale (dE

·
Registered
6,723 Posts
Greetings

I hope you realize that the spyder 2 pod is not a good match for the Sony LCD flat panel you have. It has a tendency to be off by 500 to 800 to 1000 degrees ... giving you something way way too red ... and it tells you things are correct.

regards

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Interesting...Things do seem pretty red, but I thought it might be a preception thing from viewing images that were too blue for so many years. Should I consider upgrading to the eye one sensor. Will it perform better with my LCD panel? Also, can you point me to any threads that have some discussion on this topic?

·
Registered
6,723 Posts
Greetings

Generally pretty well known issue among the professional calibration community.

Only threads you will find here at AVS are probably those where I am there saying the same thing as here.

The enthusiasts just don't have the benefit of working on multiple displays (hundreds and hundreds) with all types of calibration devices ranging in price for $100's to above $10K ...

Regards

·
Registered
651 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Calpoly_ME /forum/post/14294304

Interesting...Things do seem pretty red, but I thought it might be a preception thing from viewing images that were too blue for so many years. Should I consider upgrading to the eye one sensor. Will it perform better with my LCD panel? Also, can you point me to any threads that have some discussion on this topic?

Calpoly_ME,