AVS Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1,185 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My home theater room is in a larger addition to our house. Because of this the wall leading into the house is block with a limited wood frame and drywall on either side of the wall. Suffice to say, it is thick. Leading into the room is a flimsy door with a thin opaque plastic fill.

My wife goes to bed early, is pregnant and we also have a 18 month old. I would like to "sound proof" the opening. Ideally I would like to get a nice thick door, but the wife seems to be against this right now.

I am an admitted newbie to this sub forum, but was wondering if there was any type of dampening fabric I could hang over the door when I want to do some late night home theater listening?

Thanks

·
Registered
13,166 Posts
For most interior construction the door is rarely the major culprit. Sound transmission through the HVAC system, and (especially LF) transmitted via the studs/joists/drywall etc. are normally the main issues. Isolation requires significant effort, much more than hanging something on the door. Especially at LF, where most fabrics are acoustically transparent.

That said, do I understand that you have concrete blocks so the only framing is around the door itself? You could install a solid-core exterior door with weather sealing and it will help reduce sound transmission from the doorway itself. Just the weather sealing might help...

·
Registered
7,780 Posts
Doors are in fact a major flanking (leaking) point due to their size. It's the single largest opening in the room. Door performance is largely defined by the mass of the door slab(s) and the seals.

What you want is a massive door to start. Solid core slab. If you can't accomodate that, then there's less hope...

·
Registered
5,797 Posts