AVS Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm in the middle of assembling a surround sound system. I'm a bit new to the surround sound world so I'm confused about a few things.

I have an HTPC plugged into a surround processor (Cary Cinema 11) via optical spdif. I've done some reading about the various codecs on this site's FAQ, etc.

What I was HOPING to do was use my HTPC to do the decoding, bass management, etc, and have the surround processor act as a glorified multichannel DAC & audio source selector.

My confusion boils down to: Where is the decoding happening? If I can do all my decoding at the HTPC I can avoid having the Cary become obsolete (it already is as it doesn't do TrueHD or DTS-MA). This way it would just send a bitstream (which I think just means the decoded raw digital audio tracks), I think? I'm not sure of the difference between bitstream & LPCM...

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance,

Jason

EDIT:

After doing some more reading, it seems that you need HDMI 1.3 to send uncompressed 5.1 audio to your receiver as optical doesn't have the bandwidth. Wish I knew that ! (doh)

Anyone want to buy a Cary Cinema 11?

·
Registered
9,015 Posts
As you've discovered, the S/PDIF protocol used for optical is limited to stereo PCM. HDMI 1.1 is all you need to send multichannel PCM. 1.3 is required if you want to bitstream lossless codecs (TrueHD and DTS-HD Master Audio).

PCM (Pulse Code Modulation) is the digital audio format used with nearly all home entertainment equipment. Digital processing such as bass management and room correction are done when the audio is PCM. DACS are designed to convert PCM to analog.