AVS Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all!

I'm fairly new to the speaker world; my previous experience has been with a pair of Kenwood speakers that are nearly 40 years old that my dad bought overseas when he was in the Navy, and a set of HTIB speakers that came with my Yamaha receiver and subwoofer.

I'd like to upgrade to something better than what I have now, and I want to do so without having to sell my firstborn into slavery, as I've seen several speaker systems that can be upwards of $10k!!!

Is there a primer, or "Dumb Guy's Guide to Audio Speakers" or something that I can kind of peruse to get basics that I can start from?

I hear all sorts of stuff about speakers, like you need so much power to produce a good sound, and matched speakers, and this "sound bar" technology that produces surround sound from a speaker that's in front of you (still not sure how that works; I was always under the impression that "surround sound" meant you were literally surrounded by the sound and had speakers in front of and behind you).

I really have no idea what any of this means, or how to put it into layman's terms so that I can understand how it all works together...Anyone have any recommendations or can point me in the right direction so I don't sound stupid asking questions about speakers?

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
90% Home Theater/Gaming, 10% music. My wife likes listening to her country music, and we try to play holiday music on the holidays (Christmas gets Christmas music, Halloween has that "spooky pop/rock" type of music, 4th of July has a bunch of patriotic songs, etc.), but for the most part, it's home theater.