AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just bought GWIII 50" but im new to speakers and im trying to build a HT but i think i should understand the basics first.

Can you explain to me what are these things i should know like... Whats hz and ohms and watts and db and their relation to each other and receivers? whats crossover? whats too little, whats overkill, whats standard levels for this equipment? stuff like this.

I dont want to get ripped off at the store.

please answer some of this the best you can

OR please point me to a place/forum/site to get good information on basics

go easy on me

thanks

·
Registered
1,793 Posts
OY! You don't know what you're asking. I don't know if this will help but I'll try to at least give you a start, and hopefully other, more knowledgeable folks can be more specific, and possibly steer you to a tutorial that will do a better job of this than I can.

Hz. stands for Hertz (Hertzian waves), named after the guy who discovered (?) them, and they are what we old folk used to call "cycles per second." Sound is vibration. When I speak, my vocal cords vibrate, which causes the air to vibrate, and when that vibrating air reaches your ears it causes your ear drums to vibrate, and you 'hear" me.

But different sounds vibrate at different rates. Low sound vibrate slowly, say 20 to 200 vibrations (or "cycles," or "Hertz," or Hz.) per second. Actually 20 Hz. is about the lowest sound we humans can "hear." Mid range sounds vibrate at faster rates, say 200 to 5000 Hz., and High sounds vibrate really fast, say 5000 to 20,000 Hz. (20,000 Hz. being about the highest sound we humans can "hear") Don't hold me to those exact ranges, but you get the idea.