AVS Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Please forgive me as I am new to the domain of home audio, but was looking for some guidance.

some background:

I am planning on purchasing my first home theater system in a couple of months once there are more receivers on the market that offer HDMI 1.3 (from what I have read Onkyo has some receivers comming out in May, and Sherwood Newcastle has some coming out in August)

I have always wanted a system with floorstanding front speakers, but have a budget of $1,500 for the speakers and subwoofer (very tight I am noticing).

I am looking at a 5.1 configuration as the room is rectangular 12x17x7(height) but the viewing area is relatively small (I have a 30 inch high definition Sony TV that sits only about 6 feet from the viewing area.)

I would use this system for both movies and music (however, I am primarily a movie watcher)

I enjoy listening to clean, crisp sound and prefer clarity over loudness.

the questions:

The speaker systems that I tend to keep going back to are the Klipsch Synergy series (SF-1s through SF-3s), but are there other speakers that are a better value for this price range? (I have found the Klipsch 5.1 Sf-1s with a 10" sub for around $1000 total)

Also, would I need a sub for a system in this small of an area?

·
Registered
194 Posts
Monitor Audio Bronze Package? I'm not sure it fits in your budget though... probably.

www.monitoraudiousa.com

2x BR5

2x BRFX or B1

1x BRLCR

+ sub of your choosing.

EDIT: I think a SUB is necessary for HT, regardless of listening space... speakers just can't go as low as a good old 12" cone (or maybe 10" cone in your case). Even if it doesn't go super loud, it will give you the weight needed for most action/high-budget sci-fi movies.

·
Premium Member
14,792 Posts
If you're getting a sub anyway, why spend the money on floorstanders? Get bookshelf speakers with decent extension and spend the money you save on a better sub.