AVS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all. I am a complete novice with this stuff, so feel free to tease/flame/make fun of me

Objective: I'd like to create an enjoyable home theatre system for:
  • Gaming
  • PS3 Video Content: Blu-ray, DVD, Netflix (lots of Action but plenty of sitcoms etc...)
  • Media Server Content: ps3media server transcoding
  • MP3 listening (Everything from symphonic and heavy metal to jazz and classical)
  • Cable TV

While spending around: $800-$1000

Existing Equipment
  • Samsung LED 46" 6000 Series (120hz)
  • Playstation 3
  • Denon 2112CI
  • Speakers from a 15 year old $100 sony home-theatre-in-a-box 5.1 system...lol

I recently picked up the denon per recommendation from JDSmoothie on these forums. So: time for the speakers!

Speaker Selection

As I said, I'm a total novice with this. I've heard lots of recommendations for the ProCinema 600

http://www.crutchfield.com/s_735PCIN...DynamicContent

I've read a lot about "Voice Matching" -- is it better to go with a full pre-matched system like this?

I've heard mostly good things about Definitive, B&W, Mirage, and Energy and bad things about Polk and Klipisch. I was originally looking at the Polk Monitor series but I've just heard so many people ragging on them...

Is there a certain brand I should look to / away from based on my media types (see above please)? The cruchfeild guy said stay away from Martin Logan based on my music tastes but I tend to trust you guys more

Thanks for any advice!

As a side note, I have a $1000 newegg gift card but their selection looks awful! If I can use it...great but id rather not get bad speakers just to use that card.

·
Banned
38 Posts
I wouldn't call Polk, Klipsch(granted the Synergy line), ML and Energy a "bad" selection...(only counting what won't "blow" the budget)

Limited, yes...bad, no.

Do you want 4 towers and a center?

Do you want 2 towers, 2 bookshelves and a center?