AVS Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,

I need advice on picking some speakers for my new receiver, I am new to the HT arena and after much reading, and budget considerations I opted to go for a Yamaha HTR-5960 /v-659. I will be running this receiver for the next month or so with my old cheap HTIB speakers until tax refund time when I'll go ahead and start upgrading my speakers. I will not be getting much back, probably around 500-600 bucks and I think I want to go for bookshelf size speakers, given this should I:

1) Attempt to get a decent set of all 5 speakers (can this even be done on that budget?) or should i instead invest in maybe getting only the 2 front and main or just 2 front...and then eventually get the rest when i have more money (remember I can always keep the back surround crappy HTIB kind will then...)

2) Which brands should i go for / or avoid? When i was doing my receiver research, the same brands popped up all the time (yamaha, onkio, denon, and pioneer) but seems with speakers, the decent brands are a dime a dozen (polk, boston acoustic, JBL, Infinity and countless I never heard before..)

3)What should i look for when buying speakers , any specific specs I need to watch for? (eg. 8 vs 6 vs 4 Ohms...etc..), wattage? etc..

Some stats: The system is in my living room, it is a small apartment and the living room is around 11x17, carpet floor and of course it is not a closed area since it copnnects to the kitchen, room etc...

Thanx for any input!!

·
Registered
524 Posts