AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all. I'm finally moving into a house with a perfect room in the basement for a HT. So I'm starting my research. I will most likely have to tear out some of the drywall that is there now and run wiring. So, what speaker wire should I run in-wall? And also what about running RGB component wire to the projector? I assume you all buy stuff on spools, correct? Or do you just buy pre-made lengths of it and adjust as necessary?

Sorry for the n00b question, but I'm just getting started...

-Mike

·
Registered
641 Posts
Mike. See comments below (in your orig. text).

Hey all. I'm finally moving into a house with a perfect room in the basement for a HT. So I'm starting my research. I will most likely have to tear out some of the drywall that is there now and run wiring. So, what speaker wire should I run in-wall? *** It needs to be rated for in wall use UL3 if memory serves. Others will recommend the Lowes or Home Depot stuff, I have used and will be using Liberty Wire again. It is not too expensive yet is very flexible and easy to work with.**

And also what about running RGB component wire to the projector? I assume you all buy stuff on spools, correct? Or do you just buy pre-made lengths of it and adjust as necessary? ** Either way can work. I purchased High end Belden and ran it through out my house for all video feeds. Even the crappy cable signal is going through premo cable. I will be terminating the ends myself as I already have the tools.**

Sorry for the n00b question, but I'm just getting started...

**Just a thought. You can remove the baseboard and run the cables down very low. Simply notch the drywall and run the cables, run them up the wall to jack height between the wall studs. You could do a similar thing and add chair railing. You just need to be very careful not to send a nail into the wire.**

Good luck!

·
Registered
7,822 Posts