AVS Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I'm a newbie to the audio world, and I'm setting up a simple system. I currently have a Braun Atelier A1 amp with 2 x 55 Watts at 8 Ohms, and I'm interested in purchasing the Pioneer SP-BS22-LR speakers, which are 80 watt at 6 ohms. Will I have any issues with this pairing? My main concern is the amp since it's from the 80s, and a little rare. I don't want to damage it in any way.

Will I be ok, or should I find speakers that are 8 ohms and similar wattage?

Thanks for the help.

·
Banned
14,420 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by drainyoo  /t/1526053/speakers-and-amp-pairing#post_24573882

Hi, I'm a newbie to the audio world, and I'm setting up a simple system. I currently have a Braun Atelier A1 amp with 2 x 55 Watts at 8 Ohms, and I'm interested in purchasing the Pioneer SP-BS22-LR speakers, which are 80 watt at 6 ohms. Will I have any issues with this pairing? My main concern is the amp since it's from the 80s, and a little rare. I don't want to damage it in any way.

Thanks for the help.

I foresee no problems. Speaker impedance specifications are not rock solid and depending on manufacturer I can imagine the same speaker being rated either way.

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks. What about the watts? I've read that the amp should have twice the wattage of the speakers. Will I be fine in terms of power even though the amp had less watts per channel?

·
Banned
5,866 Posts
You'll be fine. either under powered or over powered is ok. I've used 25W amps, and I have now 180W per channel (most powerful) I'd recommend at least 50W per channel, as I found the 25W to sound a bit bloaty on the low end.

I have to be careful with my speakers, as both are 4ohm, one has 88dB sensivity, sides are 87dB so need bit of power and capable PSU.

·
Registered
7,063 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by drainyoo  /t/1526053/speakers-and-amp-pairing#post_24573882

Thanks for the help.