AVS Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
HT Gurus,

I am an HT newbie looking to get a system to be used in the capacity of watching movies with my 7-yr old son. I will also be doing some gaming. I live in an apartment so I can't be ridiculously loud but I can push some limits during reasonable hours. My living room is 16x20. My initial price range is $500.

I was hoping to get something by Christmas, so I thought an HTIB might be a reasonable starting place. Reviews and price looked good on the Onkyo HT5300. The other option I have is that I have a pair of Klipsch Chorus IIs. If I piece out the system, I am guessing that my $500 will only get me a receiver and bring me to 2.0. Does anyone have any suggestions as to whether to start small (in # of speakers) with the Klipsch, or to jump to an HTIB with more speakers?

I really don't want to spend more than $500 over the next year, but I do want to start watching some movies right away with enhanced audio. Thanks in advance for your input.

·
Registered
3,637 Posts
I would definitely go the slow build process. Starting with an AVR and fronts is fine. You could even start real small and move the first speakers you buy to rears. HTiB are nice starter systems but most who start there end up with separates. Start small and work your way up. It will be a much better experience and you will end up with a much better system!

Listen to as many speakers as you can. Don't go off of name alone. Bring some music you know and listen to different speakers. For subwoofers go to the subwoofer forum. Good luck!

·
Registered
3,637 Posts
The one thing you want to look for in a speaker is it's ability to play below 80hz so it can blend with a subwoofer. If you cross a sub too high, you will get localized bass because above 80hz, some voices and other low notes will be detectable as coming from the subwoofer. Something down to 65hz or so should be fine.

·
Registered
14 Posts