AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1,195 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I will be purchasing my first projector in a few months. I will be re-finishing my HT room, so I'll be able to wire correctly, mount the projector correctly, put the screen where it needs to be, etc.

I'm very new to the whole projector arena. What I do know is that I want a DLP projector around the $5,000 (street) price range. There is some flexibility here.

Where do I start? I've read numerous threads here and have to admit it's overwhelming. I'm very familiar with the audio side of the business, but the projector side is very new to me. I currently run a 7.1 system utilizing a Lexicon MC-12 and M&K S-150's all around.

I would be interested in getting a good "starting ground" on what projectors to look at - maybe a list of four or five in my price range - that are the best quality. Also, please recommend an accompanying screen that would suit this projector well.

In my limited knowledge to date, here's what I think I would like (also let me know if I'm missing anything):

-The new "Mustang" DLP chip

-Ability to play both 16:9 and 4:3 ratios

-Relatively quiet

-Ceiling mountable

-EASY TO USE! I am not a huge videophile, but I want a great picture without a lot of tweaking

-Ability to project anywhere from a 6' to 8' image from a distance of around 12-14 feet. Help me here if I'm off base.

That's all I can think of now. As I read recommendations I'll probably think of more questions.

Thanks for any feedback. I've read many posts on this forum, and the knowledge base here is incredible.

Regards.

·
Registered
4,525 Posts
Bam-bam,

You have a Lexicon MC-12 and M&K S-150s, and you want a ~$5,000 DLP?