AVS Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone,

I posted on here a couple of days ago asking for input on whether to buy the Sony 40" V5100 or the Samsung LN40B630. Both are priced at $1000 and I am not looking to spend anymore than that on this TV, as I am a poor college student and this TV is just for my bedroom, I am not looking to make an entertainment system with it. I am still unable to decide which TV to buy. I am looking for a good all around TV, and I will be using it for some SD cable, some HD channels and blu-ray movies, and probably most often for my PS3 and Xbox 360 gaming. I am now open to suggestions for other TV sets to choose, such as a Panny or Sharp. I have heard, however, that Panny makes great gaming TV's, but not so great movie-viewing TV's. I would rather the TV I get be great all-around, rather than great at one thing.

The Samsung LN40B630 seems to be a pretty good all around TV. I know that for movie viewing the blacks tend to be pretty blueish, and for video gaming there is a lot of lag and motion blur.

The Sony v5100 seems to have improved on these aspects. The picture, however, doesn't seem to be as good on the Sony, considering it has an 8 bit panel compared to the 10 bit for the samsung. I cannot comment on the gaming aspect of this TV, as I have yet to hear anything about it.

So what would you all recommend for a TV for me? Should I choose one of these 2 TV's, or go with a completely different TV such as the Sharp E77u which seems to be a great gaming TV? Thanks for all the input.

·
Registered
63 Posts