AVS Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I just got a STR-DH820 from amazon after a lightning burnt out my sony receiver. Anyway, this is my first time in an AV forum so please bare with me.

Firstly, here is my set up:

STR-DH820

2 JBL ND310 Tower speakers

JBL S-series center speaker

2 small sony rear speakers

1 10in jbl balboa subwoofer

My first question is the bi-amping option with the receiver. My tower speakers only have 1 set of terminal. Can i still bi-amp or bi-wire? I guess what Im trying to ask is, will i get better sound if I parallel wire the speakers to both speaker a and b in the receiver?

Im trying to make sense with this, please excuse me if i am not using the correct terminology.

Secondly, any suggesting on crossover settings?

Thank you

Isaac

·
Banned
2,582 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by tito_isaac
Hello, I just got a STR-DH820 from amazon after a lightning burnt out my sony receiver. Anyway, this is my first time in an AV forum so please bare with me.

Firstly, here is my set up:

STR-DH820

2 JBL ND310 Tower speakers

JBL S-series center speaker

2 small sony rear speakers

1 10in jbl balboa subwoofer

My first question is the bi-amping option with the receiver. My tower speakers only have 1 set of terminal. Can i still bi-amp or bi-wire? I guess what Im trying to ask is, will i get better sound if I parallel wire the speakers to both speaker a and b in the receiver?

Im trying to make sense with this, please excuse me if i am not using the correct terminology.

Secondly, any suggesting on crossover settings?

Thank you

Isaac
Bi wiring and bi amping are two differnt things.

Bi wiring really is a waste of time. Reall all it amounts to is creatign thicher speaker wire and you can sdo that with thicker gauge wire and be done with it.

Bi amping is where your speaker will even allow for it by having two sets of jacks. One set for the woofer the other set for the tweeter.