AVS Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

I recently started playing with REW to correct any nulls or peaks from my subwoofer, a SVS PC-12 Plus. I ran it for the first time tonight and the results were really surprising.

SETUP​

ROOM:
I just moved into a new apartment with concrete floors and carpeting. The walls only have a few photos on them so it's a pretty lively room. When one walks through the room you can notice notes changing (I'm not sure if they change in pitch or volume).

REW:
I have my Macbook Pro running REW 5.0. I've set the MIDI to output through a USB audio interface (Link to amazon listing). I have a Radio Shack SPL meter and its' range is set to 80 and it's in the C octave. It's outputting to the right input of the USB interface. REW is loaded with the correct calibration file for the SPL meter.

The right channel is connected to my Yamaha receiver that has any effects turned off. It's in normal stereo mode.

I've made sure to turn it up as much as possible without disturbing my neighbors (actually they probably can hear the test sounds clearly). The SPL meter is on a tripod in the listening position pointed towards the center of the TV.

RESULTS

GREEN: Indicates the first measurement without any adjustment. Notice the peak at 87 Hz (73dB) and how anything lower than 32 Hz is hardly above 20dB.

BLUE: I adjusted the onboard PEQ of the SVS PC-12 Plus. It was never an intention of mine to get a separate piece of hardware to load an EQ filter on. I thought the 2 PEQ adjustments would be enough.

I set the first adjustment is at 90 Hz to lower -12dB across a 2Q range. The second adjustment is at 21 Hz increasing +3dB. My goal was to flatten out the curve as much as possible.